Abel Visiting Scholar Program

The Niels Henrik Abel Board and the International Mathematical Union invite applications from mathematicians professionally based in developing countries to visit an international research collaborator for a period of one month. The period is extendable for up to three months in the case of matching support from the host institution.

The program is designed for post doctoral mathematicians in the early stages of their professional careers.   It is designed to offer the opportunity for a ‘research sabbatical,’ a necessary complement to teaching and other academic duties for mathematicians desiring to also sustain a viable research program.



  1. Applicants must hold at the time of application a PhD in Mathematics,

  2. be based at the time of the application in a developing country

  3. hold a position in a university/ research institution and

  4. be in the early stages of their professional careers (not have full professorial rank)

This means that the applicants has to be 

4. 1) not yet of full professorial rank and

4. 2) should be under 40 years of age at the day of the application deadline.

Therefore for the application deadline of December 31, 2014, applicants should be born ON or AFTER December 31, 1974.

The maximum age may be increased by up to three years in the case of an individual with a broken career pattern ( applicants should be born on or after December, 31, 1971). This should be noted in the application document and include the reason for the broken career pattern.


Applications from women mathematicians are strongly encouraged.


The applicant has to have already have initiated research contact with the proposed international research partner. The collaboration should take place at the international partner’s home institution. 


Definition "Developing Country"

Due to limited funding, CDC (and hereby the Selection Committee) defines "developing countries" as countries with a Gross National Income per Capita (GNI PC, 2012) less than 7500 USD. For a list, please go here


Applications must be received at least four months before the desired starting date. The selection committee will review the applications and award fellowships every four months.


The following deadlines apply:

  • December 31, 2014 or research visits starting April 1st 2015 and later
  • April 1st, 2015 for research visits starting August 1st 2015 and later
  • August 31, 2015 for research visits between January 1 and April 30, 2016. 


Each application must include:

  • A curriculum vitae including a list of recent publications
  • A research plan for the visit
  • A detailed schedule of research stay (e.g. include a weekly research plan)
  • An official invitation from the institution of the international research partner
  • One letter of recommendation
  • a copy of the PhD certificate

Research Statement

The research statement should explain the research project you intend to pursue and list the mathematicians with whom you will collaborate. Prior contact is necessary.


Financial Support

The grant will cover health insurance, visa cost, all travel (economy flights or equivalent) and living expenses including accommodation for one month for up to a total maximum amount of USD 5,000 per mathematician. 



The application form can be found here.

The Abel Visiting Scholar Program is administered by the Commission for Developing Countries of the International Mathematical Union.

Please always send your application form cc to "icmi.cdc.administrator(at)mathunion.org".


Selection Criteria

The selection criteria is based on the the quality of the project and the benefit/added value for the home institution/country.


Selection Committee

A selection committee decides which applications are successful.


The Selection Committee consists of

a) a member chosen by the Abel board

b) a member chosen by CDC

c) a third member chosen by the IMU EC

The time of members of the committee is three years for the members b) and c) with a maximum of two periods. The Abel Board decides for a)


The Selection Committee 2013-2016 (1. August 2013-31. July 2016) consists of

a) Ragni Piene (Norway)

b) Srinivasan Kesavan (India)

c) Wandera Ogana (Kenya)


In case of questions, please contact the CDC Administrator: icmi.cdc.administrator@mathunion.org