## Ramanujan Prize Announcement

The 2012 Ramanujan Prize, awarded jointly by

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics The Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund , and The International Mathematical Union

We take pleasure in announcing that the 2012 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries will be awarded to Professor Fernando Codá Marques (32), Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The Prize is in recognition of his several outstanding contributions to Differential Geometry. Together with his coauthors, Fernando Codá Marques has solved long standing open problems, and obtained important results, including results on the Yamabe problem, the complete solution of Schoen's conjecture, counterexamples to the rigidity conjecture of Min-Oo, connectivity of the space of positive curvature metrics on an orientable 3-manifold, and most recently, a proof of the Willmore conjecture.

The Selection Committee consisted of Ngô Bảo Châu, Helge Holden, Maria José Pacifico, Vasudevan Srinivas and Lothar Göttsche (Chair). The Prize is supported financially by the Norwegian Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, with the participation of the International Mathematical Union.

25 June 2012