Ramanujan Prize Announcement

The 2011 Ramanujan Prize, awarded jointly by

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics The Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund , and The International Mathematical Union

We take pleasure in announcing that the 2011 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries will be awarded to Professor Philibert Nang (44), École Normale Supérieure, Laboratoire de Recherche en Mathématiques, Libreville, Gabon.

The Prize is in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the algebraic theory of D-modules. He has important classification theorems for equivariant algebraic D-modules, in terms of explicit algebraic invariants, and his results complement the insights obtained by others using perverse sheaves, and thus shedding new light on the Riemann-Hilbert correspondence.

The Prize is also in recognition of Dr. Nang's determined pursuit of high level research while engaged in an academic career in his home country of Gabon, Africa. It is hoped that his example will inspire other young African mathematicians working at the highest levels while based in Africa.

The Ramanujan Prize is supported financially by the Norwegian Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund.

The Ramanujan Prize Selection Committee

Lothar Göttsche (Chair) Helge Holden Maria Jose Pacifico Vasudevan Srinivas Gang Tian

13 January 2012