IMU 16th General Assembly

It is a tradition to set up, at the beginning of any meeting of the GA, several committees supporting the GA in various ways

General Assembly Committees and their Duties

Credentials Committee (in charge of nomination: M. de León)

Chair: Marta Sanz-Solé (Spain) Ruth Kellerhals (Switzerland) Qiman Shao (Hong-Kong)

- Review the list of delegates that have registered at the General Assembly and verify each delegation is correctly constituted and present the list to the President of IMU
- Ensure that voting procedures are understood

Tellers Committee (in charge of nomination: R. Piene)

Chair: Francois Loeser (France) Rajendra Bhatia (India) Etienne Desquith (Ivory Coast) Yboon Victoria Garcia Ramos (Peru) Takashi Tsuboi (Japan) Karen Vogtmann (USA)

- Distribute ballots
- Collect ballots
- Verify ballots and discard invalid ballots
- Count the votes
- Report the outcome to the President of IMU

Finance and Dues Committee (in charge of nomination: M. Grötschel)

Chair: Christiane Rousseau (Canada) Erwin Albert Karl Brüning (South Africa) Dohan Kim (Republic of Korea) Robert Iain McLachlan (New Zealand) Jaroslav Nesetril (Czech Repulic) Ragnar Winther (Norway)

Ex officio: Martin Grötschel, Sylwia Markwardt

- *Review the proposed 2011-2014 budget*
- Make recommendations to the General Assembly concerning dues unit increase

• Make recommendation to the General Assembly concerning action to be taken regarding dues in arrears

Resolutions Committee (in charge of nomination: M. Viana)

Chair: Freddy Dumortier (Belgium) Ramachandran Balasubramanian (India) Nalini Joshi (Australia) Roberto Markarian (Uruguay) Mitsuhiro Shishikura (Japan) John Francis Toland (United Kingdom)

- Accept resolutions put forth by delegations prior to the close of the first day's sessions of the General Assembly (August 16)
- Review and edit resolutions received from the delegations
- Formulate resolutions
- Present the resolutions to the General Assembly with recommendations

Election Committee (in charge of nomination: L. Lovász)

Chair: David Mumford (USA) John Ball (United Kingdom) Masaki Kashiwara (Japan) László Lovász (Hungary) Jacob Palis (Brazil)

- Settle all issues coming up during the election process (for the Election Committee see page 2), in particular
 - to oversee the form of the ballot papers
 - and to clarify all matters coming up when suggestions from the floor are made.

IMU Nominating Committee

Committee members:

- David Mumford (chair)
- László Lovász
- Anthony Afuwape
- Nigel Hitchin
- -C.S. Seshadri
- Ian Sloan
- -Frances Yao

The Nominating Committee has put together slates for IMU Commissions and Committees to be elected at the Bangalore General Assembly. These are based on proposals from the Adhering Organizations. The exact duties of the Nominating Committee can be found at http://www.mathunion.org/organization/ec/procedures-for-election/.

The new Procedures for the Election are up for vote at the beginning of the General Assembly, which introduce the Election Committee (in addition to the Nominating Committee).

Election Committee

On the first day of the meeting, an Election Committee is formed which consists of all members of the IMU Nominating Committee and all Past IMU Presidents present at the GA. If the Election Committee has fewer than five members further persons shall be elected to reach a membership of at least five. The election shall be from names either proposed by the President or proposed and seconded from the floor by show of hands unless the meeting decides otherwise. The Election Committee is chaired by the Chair of the IMU Nominating Committee or by the IMU President. The reason for introducing the Election Committee is that it is not unconceivable that, for instance, a candidate for an IMU office becomes unavailable at very short notice or that controversies about certain formalities in the election process arise. The Election Committee is set up in order to make decisions in all these cases.

FAQ:

Q: What is a slate?

A: A *slate* is a list of candidates to be considered for election. At an IMU GA, it is a tradition that for certain positions, such as the IMU President or IMU Secretary, only one person is suggested for election. In other cases a slate may contain more persons than positions available, e.g., the IMU Statutes require that, for the six Members-at-Large of the IMU EC, at least eight persons have to be proposed for election.