IMU > General > News  Home | Contact | Search | Media Platform | Sitemap

News of the International Mathematical Union (IMU)

The IMU is today launching the novel IMU Breakout Graduate Fellowship Program. Thanks to a generous donation by the winners of the Breakthrough Prizes in Mathematics – Ian Agol, Simon Donaldson, Maxim Kontsevich, Jacob Lurie, Terence Tao and Richard Taylor – IMU with the assistance of FIMU and TWAS is today launching a fellowship program […]

The IMU Executive Committee (EC) held its annual meeting at the Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences (RIMS), Kyoto University, Japan, on Saturday/Sunday April 2/3, 2016. In conjunction with this meeting EC members gave talks at RIMS and the Kyoto University, see

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2016 to Sir Andrew J. Wiles “for his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory.”

The IMU’s Committee for Women in Mathematics (CWM) invites proposals for funding of up to €3,000 for activities or initiatives taking place in 2016, and aimed at establishing or supporting networks for women in mathematics, preferably at the continental or regional level, and with priority given to networks and individuals in developing or emerging countries. […]

The Association of Nepalese Mathematicians in America (ANMA), Nepal Mathematical Society (NMS) and mathematics departments in Nepal (Tribhuvan University and Kathmandu University) have planned an International Conference on Applications of Mathematics to Nonlinear Sciences, May 26-29, 2016, in Kathmandu, Nepal. Please visit the Website for more information. The Symposium will be centered on the work of Stanislav Smirnov (Fields Medal 2010), and its current and potential impact. His research focuses on the fields of complex analysis, dynamical systems, and probability theory. The scientific program is aimed at a wide audience, including graduate students, mathematicians in other research areas, and scientists who […]

The Ramanujan Prize Selection Committee has announced that the 2015 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries will be awarded to the Indian mathematician Amalendu Krishna in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the area of algebraic K-theory, algebraic cycles and the theory of motives. For more Information, see the ICTP announcement.

The International Mathematical Union released a Call for Bids for ICM 2022 together with ICM Bidding Guidelines which provide advice and instructions to potential bidders. For a bid to be considered by the Site Selection Committee (SSC) of IMU it must be received no later than November 30, 2016.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2015 to John F. Nash, Jr., Princeton University and Louis Nirenberg, Courant Institute, New York University “for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis.”

The IMU Executive Committee (EC) held its annual meeting at the IMU Secretariat in Berlin on Saturday/Sunday March 14/15, 2015. On Thursday/Friday March 12/13, 2015 there was a meeting of the IMU Commission for Developing Countries (CDC) in the IMU Secretariat. The IMU EC and the CDC had a joint meeting on Friday in order […]

Many mathematical societies around the world offer information about new mathematical developments, current events and activities.
Below is a list of web pages leading to news of this type.

AMS - American Mathematical Society

What's New in Mathematics

CMS - Canadian Mathematical Society


DMV - German Mathematical Society


LMS - London Mathematical Society


SMF - Societe Mathematique de France




last updated: 2015-02-18