ICMI
ICMI > ICMI > Members > ICMI Representatives  

Each member country of ICMI shall appoint a representative to ICMI. This appointment is the responsibility of the IMU Adhering Organization, for those countries which are Full or Associate Members of IMU,  and of the ICMI Adhering Organization, for the other countries co-opted under item (8) in the ICMI Terms of reference. A representative should normally not serve for more than two consecutive four-year terms. (Kobe Rule). For a list of the IMU Adhering Organisations and contact information please go here: http://www.mathunion.org/members/countries

Here you can find out more about the role of the ICMI representatives (pfd file).

Below find the list of the current ICMI Country Representatives:

ALGERIA

Professor Emeritus Bebouchi Rachid
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Sciences and Technology Houari Boumediene
El-Alia, Bab-Ez-Zouar, Algiers
rbebbouchi@hotmail.com
ALGERIA

ARGENTINA

Prof. Mónica E. Villarreal
Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET)
Facultad de Matemática, Astronomía, Física y Computación (FaMAF)
Universidad Nacional de Córdoba
ARGENTINA
mvilla@famaf.unc.edu.ar

ARMENIA

Professor, Dr. Samvel Haroutunian
Chair of Higher Algebra and Geometry
Armenian State Pedagogical University
Yerevan
ARMENIA
S_Haroutunian@netsys.am

AUSTRALIA

Prof. Merrilyn Goos
School of Education
The University of Queensland
Qld 4072
AUSTRALIA
m.goos@uq.edu.au

AUSTRIA

Univ.Prof. Dr. Hans Humenberger
Universität Wien
Fakultät für Mathematik
Oskar-Morgenstern-Platz 1
A - 1090 Wien
Austria
Hans.Humenberger@univie.ac.at

BANGLADESH

Professor S.M. Sharfuddin
58 Lake Circus
Kalabagan, Dhaka-1205  
BANGLADESH

BELGIUM

Professor Paul Igodt
Faculteit Wetenschappen, Campus Kulak Kortrijk
KU Leuven
Etienne Sabbelaan 53 - bus 7657
8500 Kortrijk
BELGIUM
paul.igodt@kuleuven.be

 

BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA

Not known

BOTSWANA

Not known

BRAZIL

Prof. Mario Jorge Dias Carneiro
Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil,
carneiro@mat.ufmg.br

BRUNEI DARUSSALAM

Not known

 

BULGARIA

Prof. Kiril Bankov
Professor of mathematics education at the Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics, University of Sofia
BULGARIA

kbankov@fmi.uni-sofia.bg

CAMBODIA

Dr. Lin Mongkolsery
mongkolsery@gmail.com

CAMEROON

Prof. Dr. Mama FOUPOUAGNIGNI
Professor of Mathematics, University of Yaounde I
Academic Director, AIMS-Cameroon
P. O. Box 608 Limbe, Cameroon
mfoupouagnigni@aims-cameroon.org

CANADA

Professor Frederic Gourdeau
Département de mathématiques et de statistique
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon
1045, avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec (QC)
Canada  G1V 0A6
fredg@mat.ulaval.ca

CAPO VERDE

Professor João Felisberto Semedo
Presidente do Conselho Científico
Universidade de Cabo Verde (Uni-CV)
www.unicv.edu.cv
joao.semedo@docente.unicv.edu.cv

CHILE

Professor Rubi Rodriquez
Facultad de Matemáticas
Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile
Casilla 306, Correo 22
Santiago  
CHILE
rubi@mat.puc.cl

CHINA

Chinese Mathematical Society
Professor Wang Jianpan
Eastern China Normal University
200062 Shanghai
CHINA
jpwang@admin.ecnu.edu.cn

Mathematical Society located in Taipei, China
Professor Tai-Yih Tso
Department of Applied Mathematics
National Chiao Tung University
Ta Hsueh Road
Hsinchu 300, Taiwan
mclai@math.nctu.edu.tw

COLOMBIA

Professor Enrique Acosta
Coordinator for the education commission of the Sociedad Colombiana de Matemáticas
enriqueacostajaramillo@gmail.com

COSTA RICA

Professor Angel Ruiz
Centro de Investigaciones Matemáticas y Metamatemáticas
Universidad de Costa Rica
San José
COSTA RICA
ruizz.angel@gmail.com
http://angelruiz.com

CROATIA

Professor Tomislav Sikic
Faculty of Electrical Engineering
and Computing
University of Zagreb
Unska 3
10000 Zagreb  
CROATIA
tomislav.sikic@fer.hr

sikic@math.hr

CUBA

Dr. Miguel Cruz Ramírez
Vicepresident of the Sociedad Cubana de Matemática y Computación (SCMC)
mcruzr@facinf.uho.edu.cu

CZECH REPUBLIC

Prof. RNDr. Josef Molnár, CSc.
Katedra algebry a geometrie
Pírodov decká fakulta Univerzity Palackého
T. 17. listopadu 12
771 46 Olomouc
Czech Republic
phone: +420 585 634 657
josef.molnar@upol.cz

DENMARK

Education Coordinator Karsten Schmidt
Matematiktorvet
Technical University of Denmark
Building 303 S, room 054
DK-2800 Kongens Lyngby
DENMARK
Karsten.Schmidt@mat.dtu.dk

ECUADOR

Professor David F. Hervas
Departamento de Matemáticas
Universidad San Francisco de Quito
PO Box 17-1200-841
Quito
ECUADOR
dhervas@usfq.edu.ec

EGYPT

Professor Nasser Hassan Sweilam
Faculty of Science, Mathematics Department
Cairo University
12613 Giza  
EGYPT
nsweilam@sci.cu.edu.eg

ESTONIA

Professor Madis Lepik
Narva mnt 25,
Associate Professor of Mathematics Didactics
Tallinn University
10120 Tallinn
ESTONIA
madis.lepik@tlu.ee

 

FINLAND

Professor Juha Oikkonen
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
P.O. Box 68
FI-00014 University of Helsinki
Finland
Juha.Oikkonen@helsinki.fi

FRANCE

Professor Edwige Godlewski
Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)
Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions (BC187)
4 place Jussieu
75005 Paris
FRANCE
edwige.godlewski@upmc.fr

GEORGIA

Professor Tengiz Buchukuri
A. Razmadze Mathematical Institute
Georgian Academy of Sciences
1, M. Aleksidze Str.
Tbilisi 0193  
GEORGIA
t_buchukuri@yahoo.com

GERMANY

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Kaiser
University of Hamburg
Faculty of Education
Didactics of Mathematics
Von-Melle-Park 8
20146 Hamburg
gabriele.kaiser@uni-hamburg.de

GHANA

Not known

GREECE

Professor Georgios M. Dimakos
Academy of Athens
28 Panepistimiou St.
10679 Athens
GREECE
gdimakos@primedu.uoa.gr

HONG KONG

Not known

HUNGARY

Prof. Péter Juhász
A. Rényi Institute of Mathematics (HAS),
Didactics group and Department of Computer Science,
Eötvös Loránd University
Budapest
HUNGARY
jpet@cs.elte.hu

ICELAND

Professor Emeritus Kristín Bjarnadóttir
University of Iceland – School of Education
v/Stakkahlid
105 Reykjavík
Iceland
krisbj@hi.is

INDIA

Prof. K Subramaniam (Ravi)
Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
V.N.Purav Marg
Mankhurd
Mumbai-400 005  
INDIA
subra@hbcse.tifr.res.in

INDONESIA

Prof.Dr. Zulkardi
Department of Mathematics Education
Faculty of Teacher Training and Education,
Sriwijaya University.
Bukit Sejahtera Blok CD No. 5  Palembang,
30139, South Sumatra, Indonesia
Phone number: +628127106777 or +62711440143
zulkardi@unsri.ac.id  or zulkardi@yahoo.com

IRAN

Dr. Soheila Gholam Azad
Ministry of Education
Research Institute for Education
Tehran 1584634818
IRAN
soheila_azad@yahoo.com

IRELAND

Professor Maurice OReilly
Mathematics Department
St Patrick’s College
Drumcondra
Dublin 9
IRELAND
maurice.oreilly@spd.dcu.ie

ISRAEL

Prof. Anna Sfard
Department of Mathematics Education in the Faculty of Education
University of Haifa
199 Aba Khoushy Ave. Mount Carmel
Haifa 
3498838,Israel
sfard@netvision.net.il

ITALY

Professor Roberto Tortora
Dipartimento di Matematica e Applicazioni "Renato Caccioppoli"
Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
VIA CINTIA - COMPLESSO MONTE S.ANGELO, 26
Napoli
ITALY
rtortora@unina.it

IVORY COAST

Mr. Soma Traore
Institut de Recherches Mathématiques (IRMA)
08 B.P. 2030 Abidjan 08  
IVORY COAST
traoresoma@yahoo.fr

JAPAN

Professor Toshiakira Fujii
Tokyo Gakugei University 4-1-1 Nukuikita, Koganei
zip184-8501Tokyo
JAPAN
tfujii@u-gakugei.ac.jp

KAZAKHSTAN

Dr. Durvudkhan Suragan
Institute of Mathematics and Mathematical Modeling
28 Shevchenko str.,
050010 Almaty
KAZAKHSTAN
durvudkhan.suragan@kcl.ac.uk

KENYA

Dr. Marguerite  Khakasa Miheso-O'Connor
Department/Unit/Section: Educational Communication And Technology, Mathematics Education
Kenyatta University
Box 43844, 00100 Nairobi
Personal: Box 54717, 00200
Kenya
khakasaconnor@gmail.comkhakasaconnor@gmail.com

REPUBLIC OF KOREA

Professor Sung Sook Kim (Jan. 1 of 2016 until Dec. 31 of 2017)
Paichai  University
ksicmi.org
REPUBLIC OF KOREA
sskim@pcu.ac.kr

KUWAIT

Not known

KYRGYZSTAN

Professor Keldibay Alymkulov
Director of the Fundamental and Applied Researches Institute
Osh State University
331 Lenin str.
723500 Osh
Kyrgyzstan
keldibay@mail.ru

LATVIA

Professor Ilze France
Senior Researcher
University of Latvia
Zellu street 23, Riga, Latvia
LV-1002
ilze.france@lu.lv

LITHUANIA

Prof. Dr. Habil. Rimas Norvaisa
Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics
Vilnius University
Naugarduko 24
Vilnius 03225
Lithuania
norvaisa.lt
rimas.norvaisa@mii.vu.lt

LUXEMBOURG

Dr. Mike Dostert
mike.dostert@education.lu,
mike.dostert@elaml.lu
jean-claude.delagardelle@education.lu

MADAGASCAR

Dr. Fanja Rakotondrajao
Department of Mathematics and Informatic
University of Antananarivo
101 Antananarivo, Madagascar
frakoton@yahoo.fr

MALAWI

Dr Mercy Kazima
Associate Professor of Mathematics Education
University of Malawi
P.O. Box 280, Zomba. Malawi.
Tel: 265-1-524222
Fax: 265-1-524046
mkazima@cc.ac.mw

MALAYSIA

Prof. Dr. Maslina Darus
School of Mathematical Sciences,
Faculty of Science and Technology
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
43600 UKM Bangi, Selangor DE
MALAYSIA.
maslina@ukm.edu.my

MEXICO

Dr. Alejandro Diaz Barriga
Instituto de Matemáticas
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Circuito Exterior, Ciudad Universitaria
Coyoacan, D.F. 04510  
MEXICO
diazb@im.unam.mx

MOLDOVA

 

not known

 

MOZAMBIQUE

Prof. Dr. Marcos Cherinda
Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Universidade Pedagogica
P.O.Box: 4040, Maputo  
MOZAMBIQUE
mcherinda@gmail.commcherinda@up.ac.mz

mcherinda@up.ac.mz

MONTENEGRO

 

not known

NEPAL

Dr. Prof. Madan Man Shrestha
President,
Council for Mathematics Education
NEPAL
mathcouncil@gmail.com

NETHERLANDS

Prof. Dr. Paul Drijvers
Freudenthal Institute
Department of Mathematics
Utrecht University
P.O. Box 85170
3508 TA Utrecht
NETHERLANDS
p.drijvers@uu.nl

NEW ZEALAND

Associate Professor Caroline Yoon
The University of Auckland
c.yoon@auckland.ac.nz

NIGERIA

PROFESSOR Ejugwu Stephen Onah,
Director & Chief Executive,
National Mathematical Centre,
Abuja,
NIGERIA
ajusonah2001@yahoo.com,
ajosonah@gmail.com

NORWAY

Professor Anne Berit Fuglestad
Department of Mathematics
University of Agder (UiA)
Faculty of Engeneering and Sciences, Postboks 422
4604 Kristiansand  
NORWAY
Anne.B.Fuglestad@uia.no
http://home.uia.no/annebf/indexengl.htm

OMAN

Professor Mohamed A. Al-Lawati
Head of Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Sultan Qaboos University
OMAN
allawati@squ.edu.om

PAKISTAN

Not known

PARAGUAY

Prof. Gabriela Gomez (first contact)
gabriela@omapa.org.py
Prof. Jorge Mello (second contact)
jorgedanielmello@hotmail.com

PERU

Prof. Dr. Uldarico Malaspina Jurado
Departamento de Ciencias - Matemáticas
Pontificia Univ. Católica del Perú
Avenida Universitaria 1801
Lima 32
PERÚ
umalasp@pucp.edu.pe

PHILIPPINES

Professor Catherine P. Vistro-Yu
Mathematics Department
Ateneo de Manila University
Katipunan Avenue, Loyola Heights
Quezon City 1108
PHILIPPINES
cvistro-yu@ateneo.edu

POLAND

Dr Krzysztof Ciesielski
Mathematics Department
Jagiellonian University
Krakow
Poland
Krzysztof.Ciesielski@im.uj.edu.pl

PORTUGAL

Professor José Francisco Rodrigues
Departamento de Matemática
Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Campo Grande, Edifício P6, Piso 2
P-1749-016 Lisboa
PORTUGAL
rodrigue@ptmat.fc.ul.pt

ROMANIA

 Catalin Lefter
Universitatea Al.I.Cuza 
Facultatea de Matematica
Iasi
Romania
catalin.lefter@uaic.ro

RUSSIA

Professor Ivanov Oleg Aleksandrovich
Department of Mathematics and Mechanics
St.Petersburg State University
Russia
oleg_ivanov2002@mail.ruoleg_ivanov2002@mail.ru

SAUDI ARABIA

Not known

SENEGAL

Professor Professor Diarraf Seck
Université de Cheikh Anta Diop
Dakar
SENEGAL
diaraf.seck@ucad.edu.sn

SERBIA

Professor Aleksandar Lipkovski
University of Belgrade, Faculty of Mathematics
Studentski trg 16
Beograd, Serbia
acal@matf.bg.ac.rs

SINGAPORE

Professor Toh Tin Lam
Math & Math Education AG
National Institute of Education
1 Nanyang Walk
Singapore 637616
SINGAPORE
tinlam.toh@nie.edu.sg

SLOVAKIA

Professor Sona Ceretkova
Department of Mathematics
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Constantine the Philosopher University in Nitra
Tr. A. Hlinku 1
949 74 Nitra
SLOVAKIA
sceretkova@ukf.sk

SLOVENIA

Dr. Damjan Kobal
Department of Mathematics
University of Ljubljana
Jadranska 19
1000 Ljubljana
SLOVENIA
Damjan.Kobal@fmf.uni-lj.si

SOUTH AFRICA

Ms. Barbara Busisiwe Goba (since 11.2012)
School of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education
School of Education
University of Kwazulu-Natal
SOUTH AFRICA
Gobab@ukzn.ac.za

SPAIN

Professor Agustín Carrillo de Albornoz Torres
President of the Education Commission of the Spanish Committee for Mathematics (CEMAT)
SPAIN

agustincarrillo@telefonica.net

agustincarrillo@fespm.es 

SWAZILAND

Mr. E.D. Bicknell
William Pitcher College
P.O.Box 1473, Manzini  
SWAZILAND

SWEDEN

Professor Samuel Bengmark
Matematiska vetenskaper
Chalmers och Göteborgs universitet
412 96, Göteborg
SWEDEN
samuel@chalmers.se

SWITZERLAND

Dr. Torsten Linnemann
Pädagogische Hochschule FHNW
Institut Sekundarstufe I und II
Dozent für Mathematikdidaktik
Riehenstrasse 154
4058 Basel
T +41 76 4952308
torsten.linnemann@fhnw.ch

THAILAND

Professor Maitree Inprasitha
Dean of Faculty of Education, Khon Kaen University
Director of Center for Research in Mathematics Education (CRME)
Chair, Executive Committee of Doctoral Program in Mathematics Education
Khon Kaen University
Mittraphap Road, KhonKaen 40002  
THAILAND
inprasitha_crme@kku.ac.th

TUNISIA

Professor Leila Lassouad
Faculty of Sciences of Tunis
leila.lassoued@fst.rnu.tn
leilalassoued@gmail.com

TURKEY

Huriye ARIKAN, PhD.
Coordinator
Academic Support Programs
Sabanci University
34956 Tuzla, Istanbul, TURKEY
huriye@sabanciuniv.edu

UKRAINE

Professor Perestyuk Nikolai Alekseevich
Department of Mechanics and Mathematics
Kiev National Taras Shevchenko University
Vladimirskaya, 64
01033 Kiev
UKRAINE
pmo@univ.kiev.ua

UNITED KINGDOM

Dr. Chris Budd
Professor of Applied Mathematics
University of Bath
Bath BA2 7AY
United Kingdom
c.j.budd@bath.ac.uk

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Prof. James Roznowski
Chair US National Commission on Math Instruction (2017-2018)
Delta College, Emeritus
1031 West Center Road
Essexville, MI 48732
Tel: (989) 894-5853
jimroznowski@gmail.com

Ana M Ferreras
NAS contact for ICMI
AFerreras@nas.edu

URUGUAY


Gustavo E. Bermúdez Canzani
President of SEMUR (Sociedad de Educaion matematica del Uruguay)
gbermudez@adinet.com.uy

VENEZUELA

Dr Sabrina Garbin
Departamento de Matemáticas Puras y Aplicadas
Universidad Simón Bolívar, Sartenejas.
Caracas 1080  
VENEZUELA
sgarbin@usb.ve

VIET NAM

Professor Nguyen Van Mau
Hanoi University of Science
334 Nguyen Trai Str.
Hanoi
VIET NAM
maunv@vnu.edu.vn

ZAMBIA

Not known

© 2008 ICMI. This site is subject to terms and conditions. Created by Studio École Technical design by FD Canada