International Mathematical Union

Circular Letter #1/2006

Date: April 19, 2006

To: Adhering Organizations Committees for Mathematics Delegates to the 15th General Assembly

From: Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union

Re: Slates

The delegates to the 15th General Assembly in Santiago de Compostela, August 19-20, 2006, will elect officers and Members-at-Large for the International Mathematical Union Executive Committee (EC), Commission on Development and Exchanges (CDE), International Commission on the History of Mathematics (ICHM) and the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI).

Resolution 8, adopted at the 14th General Assembly in 2002, charged the IMU EC to "develop a proposed mechanism to involve members from the Committees for Mathematics, not on the Executive Committee, to assist in the selection of slates. This proposal should be put forth to the 2006 General Assembly." In order to fulfill Resolution 8, the EC amended the IMU's Procedures for Elections and created an EC Nominating Committee and an ICMI Nominating Committee. The updated Procedures for Elections will be presented to the 15th General Assembly and sent to you in a Circular Letter.

The EC Nominating Committee, chaired by L. Faddeev, developed the EC, CDE and ICHM slates, and the ICMI Nominating Committee, chaired by M. Niss, developed the ICMI slate.

The IMU EC has approved these slates and will present them to the 15th General Assembly Nominating Committee. Each candidate has agreed to serve if elected. Curricula vitae can be found at http://www.mathunion.org/Organization/GA/2006. For the UserID and Password, please e-mail imu@ias.edu.

Please carefully review each nomination in preparation for the elections at the General Assembly.

Both the EC Nominating Committee and the ICMI Nominating Committee have worked to produce geographically and academically diverse slates of mathematicians who are willing to work to uphold the mission of the International Mathematical Union for the period 2007-2010.

IMU Executive Committee

President: L. Lovasz (Hungary) Secretary: M. Groetschel (Germany) Vice Presidents: Ma Zhiming (China), C. Procesi (Italy)

Members-at-Large (9 candidates for 5 or 6 posts)

The EC will ask the 15th General Assembly delegates to approve a Statute change increasing the number of Members-at-Large on the EC from five to six.

S. Baouendi (USA) M. de Leon (Spain) K. Fukaya (Japan) N. Ghoussoub (Canada) A. Lubotzky (Israel) R. Piene (Norway) C. Praeger (Australia) V. Vassiliev (Russia) M. Viana (Brazil)

CDE

President: S. Dani (India) Secretary: G. Gonzalez-Sprinberg (France)

Members-at-Large (8 candidates for 6 posts) G. Boente (Argentina) P. Cordaro (Brazil) J-P. Gossez (Belgium) L. Lilov (Bulgaria) M. Teuw Niane (Senegal) M. Sanz-Sole (Spain) T. Suzuki (Japan) J. Zhang (China)

ICHM (4 candidates for 2 posts)

C. Houzel (France) Wenlin Li (China) A. Malet (Spain) P. Neumann (UK)

ICMI President: M. Artigue (France) Secretary: B. Hodgson (Canada) Vice Presidents: J. Adler (South Africa) B. Barton, (New Zealand)

Members at Large (7 candidates for 5 posts) M. Bartolini Bussi (Italy) J. Carvalho e Silva (Portugal) O. Figueras (Mexico) C. Hoyles (UK) S. Kumaresan (India) F. Leung (Hong Kong) A. Semenov (Russia)

Phillip A. Griffiths Secretary imu@ias.edu