Betreff: [GAdelegates] IMU AO CL 13/2010: IMU Awards and brief summary of GA results

Von: "IMU Secretary" <secretary@mathunion.org>

Datum: Thu, 26 Aug 2010 08:42:26 +0200

An: <ao@mathunion.org>, <GAdelegates@mathunion.org>

CC: Kim_Plofker@alumni.brown.edu, cabrelli@dm.uba.ar, jap@matem.unam.mx, jantdelap@gmail.com, wli@math.ac.cn, kesh@imsc.res.in, plofkerk@union.edu, lutzen@math.ku.dk, hxphu@math.ac.vn, wendelin.werner@math.u-psud.fr, "'Herb Clemens'" <clemens@math.ohio-state.edu>, wogana@uonbi.ac.ke, "'Christiane Rousseau'" <rousseac@DMS.UMontreal.CA>, Phu@iwr.uni-heidelberg.de

To: IMU Adhering Organizations and to all participants of the IMU General Assembly 2010

From: Martin Groetschel, IMU Secretary

Dear colleagues,

While the International Congress of Mathematicians in Hyderabad, India is running smoothly towards its end, I would like to give a brief report about the results of the 16th General Assembly of the International Mathematical Union in Bangalore. The full report will appear in IMU Bulletin 59 to be completed this year.

The text below mentions several attachments. These attachments are not attached to this e-mail, they will be sent to you in a second e-mail coming in a few moments. Most of these documents are already on the Web, the remaining will soon be made available via the IMU Web site.

But first of all I want to cite the winners of the IMU Prizes and point to Web pages with detailed information.

IMU Prizes 2010

The four Fields Medal awardees of the year 2010 are:

- Elon Lindenstrauss of Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel and Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA;
- Ngô Bảo Châu of Université Paris-Sud, Orsay, France;
- Stanislav Smirnov of Université de Genève, Switzerland;
- Cédric Villani of Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris, France.

The winner of the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize 2010 is: - Daniel Spielman, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA.

The winner of the Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize for Applications of Mathematics 2010 is:

- Yves Meyer, École Normal Supérieur de Cachan, Cachan, France.

The winner of the Chern Medal Award 2010 is:

- Louis Nirenberg, Courant Institute of the Mathematical Sciences New York, NY, USA.

The Prizes were awarded by Shrimati Pratibha Patil, the Honourable President of India, and IMU President László Lovász. They were assisted by the Chairs/Members of the Prize Selection Committees (R. Kannan, W. Dahmen, R. Bryant) and representatives of the Prize donors

1 von 4 26.08.10 09:46

(P. Mattila, W. Lueck, M. Chu).

More details on the prizes, biodata, laudations, and work profiles of the prize winners, are offered at http://www.icm2010.in/prize-winners-2010.

The page

http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes

provides access to the PowerPoint presentation shown in the award ceremony and lists the members of the various prize selection committees. A video of the Opening Ceremony (including the Award Ceremony) can be found at the ICM 2010 online streaming archive:

http://www.icm2010.org.in/from-the-venue/online-streaming-archives.
Details about the (physical) medals and the cash awards

http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/physical-medals-and-cash-awards.

GA Results

========

are at

Here is a brief summary of the GA results, the numbering is identical to the items on the GA agenda, see IMU Bulletin 58 attached to IMU AO CL 11/2010:

http://www.mathunion.org/Publications/CircularLetters/2010-11.pdf

Various committees, elected at the beginning of the GA, assisted the Executive Committee in conducting the meeting. The EC thanks all members of these committees (see the list attached) for their support.

2.1 and 9. The proposed changes of the Procedures for Election and of the IMU Statutes were approved, see IMU AO CL 10/2010. Changes concern only the election of EC, CDC and ICHM members. The new Procedures for Election (for the EC, CDC, and ICHM) are attached and can be found at

http://www.mathunion.org/fileadmin/IMU/EC/Procedures_for_Election_2010final 100816.pdf

They will soon be merged into a document containing also the ICMI Election Procedures which are, as before, at http://www.mathunion.org/organization/ec/procedures-for-election

The new version of the IMU Statutes is attached and can be found at:

http://www.mathunion.org/fileadmin/IMU/Statutes2010.pdf

- 2.2-2.6 The GA committees that were elected at the 16th meeting of the General Assembly are attached.
- 3.2 The new version of the CDC Terms of Reference was approved, see attachment. The new CDC (Commission for Developing Countries) will start its activity in January 2011, a Web page for the CDC is under construction.
- 4. The Weierstrass Institute in Berlin, Germany was elected as the host of the new permanent office of IMU, starting its operation in 1/2011. The EC has formed a committee to handle all legal and administrative aspects of the move of IMU's office to its new location.
- 6.1 The document, prepared by the Committee on Electronic
 Information and Communication, "Best Current Practices for
 Journals" was approved, see
 http://www.mathunion.org/fileadmin/CEIC/bestpractice/bpfinal.pdf.
- 10. The members of the IMU Executive Committee (EC), the

2 von 4 26.08.10 09:46

Committee for Developing Countries (CDC) and the IMU members of the International Commission on the History of Mathematics (ICHM) for the term 2011-2014 were elected, see attachment and http://www.mathunion.org/fileadmin/IMU/Leadership-2011-2014.pdf.

- 11. The IMU budget proposed for 2011-2014 was accepted with the recommendation to restructure the budget after the contract between IMU and the Weierstrass Institute on the operation of the new permanent office has been signed. The (then) new budget is supposed to be sent to the Adhering Organizations by the end of 2011 for approval. A dues increase of 2% per year for 2011-2014 was approved, see resolutions 13 and 14 for exact wording.
- 14. The resolutions that were approved by the GA can be found in the attachment and at http://www.mathunion.org/fileadmin/GA/Resolutions/RESOL2010.pdf
- 15. Seoul, Republic of Korea, has been chosen as the location of ICM 2014, this congress will take place in the second half of August 2014. Gyungju will be the location of the next General Assembly.
- 16.3 IMU Membership: As of September 1, 2010
- Montenegro becomes a new IMU Member,
- Cambodia, Moldova, Nepal, and Oman become new IMU Associate Members.
- the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society becomes a new IMU Affiliate Member.

Digital ICM Proceedings of all time

Finally, at the ICM 2010 Opening Ceremony, the International Mathematical Union has inaugurated the server

http://www.mathunion.org/ICM

which provides access, free of charge, to the articles in all ICM proceedings volumes since the beginning of this series of congresses. IMU is grateful to all publishing houses that have granted the right to digitize these books. IMU particularly appreciates the work of R. Keith Dennis (Cornell University) and Ulf Rehmann (Universität Bielefeld) who have volunteered to digitize the articles.

Best regards,

Martin Groetschel

Martin Groetschel
Secretary of the
International Mathematical Union (IMU)
URL: http://www.mathunion.org
e-mail: secretary@mathunion.org

Postal Address: | Telecommunication:
Zuse Institute Berlin	Tel: +49 30 84185 210
Takustr. 7	Tel: +49 30 314 23266
D-14195 Berlin	FAX: +49 30 84185 269
Germany	Sec: +49 30 84185 208
personal URL: www.zib.de/groetschel	

3 von 4 26.08.10 09:46

GAdelegates mailing list

GAdelegates@mail.mathunion.org
http://www.mathunion.org/mailman/listinfo/gadelegates

26.08.10 09:46 4 von 4