Report of the 10th General Assembly of IMU Oakland, California, U.S.A., July 31 - August 1, 1986 1. The President opened the Assembly on July 31 at 10 a.m. 2. The address given by the President is given as Appendix 1. 3. The following committees were appointed: Credentials Committee: Jacob Korevaar, Chairman Miroslav Fiedler Allessandro Figá-Talamanca G.E. Wall Olli Lehto, ex-officio Tellers: S.D. Chatterji, Chairman Rodrigo Bamòn Klaus Matthes Committee for Finance and Dues: Rémi Vaillancourt, Chairman Masayoshi Nagata Blagovest Sendov Eric C. Zeeman Olli Lehto, ex-officio Nominating Committee: Jürgen Moser, Chairman ex-officio Bogdan Bojarski Michel Brouè A.A. Gonchar F.E.P. Hirzebruch Kiyoshi Ito M.S. Raghunathan Claude A. Rogers Mary Ellen Rudin 4. It was unanimously decided to delete the word "national" from the IMU Statutes. The Executive Committee was authorized to make the changes that are necessary to remove any contradictions. The word "national" will be deleted from the terms of reference of the IMU

5.1. China was admitted to the Union in Group V with the adhering organization

commissions.

China was admitted to the Union in broup V with the adhering organization formed by two societies, Chinese Mathematical Society and Mathematical Society located in Taipei, China. The former has 3 votes and the latter 2. The former pays dues of 4 units and the latter dues of 2 units.

The listing of China is as follows:

China:

- Chinese Mathematical Society
- Mathematical Society located in Taipei, China.

The present membership of China-Taiwan ceases.

Neither of the societies mentioned above is required to make any change in the name under which it operates, or of the style in which it designates itself in its communications or in its Statutes.

The President welcomed the observers, Professors Wu Wen-Tsün and Lo Yang, as representatives of the new society, Chinese Mathematical Society, to IMU.

The Assembly expressed its appreciation to its member China-Taiwan for showing such a spirit of cooperation and good will finally leading to the conclusion of the negotiations, which have been carried out for several years.

The Assembly expressed its gratitude to the present Executive Committee for carrying out successfully the negotiations leading to the representation of all Chinese mathematicians in IMU. Special thanks were forwarded to the President and Secretary as well as the former President, Professor Lennart Carleson, and former Secretary, Professor J.L. Lions.

5.2.

Ivory Coast was admitted to IMU in Group I, becoming the $53 \mbox{rd}$ member of the Union.

The Assembly expressed the wish to receive more information upon membership applications.

There was a break from 12:20 to 2:30 p.m.

The President announced that the Site Committee recommends Kyoto as the site for the 1990 International Congress of Mathematicians. The Assembly accepted Kyoto by acclamation.

6.

7.

The activities of the Union in the years 1982-1985 have been reviewed in the Special Number Bulletin 25. The reports in the Bulletin covering symposia and conferences supported by IMU, IMU lectures, ICMI activities, CDE activities, the IMU Bulletin and the World Directory of Mathematicians were approved.

The Resolutions Committee presented Resolution 1 (Appendix 5), which was adopted.

The first session of the Assembly was closed at 3:30 p.m.

The second session of the General Assembly was opened on August 1 at 9:30 a.m.

Professor R. Vaillancourt, Chairman of the Committee for Finance and Dues, reported on the work of the Committee. His report is printed as Appendix 3.

The financial reports for the years 1982-1985 and the audited accounts for the years 1982-1985 as well as the work of the Executive Committee were accepted by acclamation.

The Committee recommended the acceptance of the budget the Executive Committee had proposed for the years 1987-1990. The budget was accepted; it is printed as Appendix 4.

The President thanked Professor Vaillancourt for his careful analysis and precise presentation and the attention the Committee had given to its work.

It was noted that most of the funds received to the Special Appeal Fund were donated by the London Mathematical Society. Professor Zeeman appealed to other members to make donations to the Fund.

A vote of thanks was given to the Secretary, Professor Olli Lehto, for his excellent work as the Treasurer of the Union.

The session had a break from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

8.

The Nominating Committee had met during the break. The Committee had not received any names from the floor for the IMU Executive Committee nor for the ICMI Executive Committee. One name was received for a member of CDE.

The IMU Executive Committee, elected unanimously, for the years 1987-1990 consists of President: Ludwig D. Faddeev

President:	Ludwig D. Faddeev
Vice-Presidents:	Walter Feit
	Lars Hörmander
Secretary:	Olli Lehto
Members:	John Coates
	Hikosaburo Komatsu
	Làslò Lovàsz
	Jacob Palis Jr.
	C.S. Seshadri.
The Past President, Jurge	n Moser, will be a member ex-officio.

The ICMI Executive Committee, elected unanimously, for the years 1987-1990 consists of

President: Jean-Pierre Kahane Vice-Presidents: Emilio Lluis Peng-Yee Lee Members: Hiroshi Fujita Jeremy Kilpatrick Mogens Niss.

Members ex-officio are Ludwig D. Faddeev, Olli Lehto and J.H. van Lint (IMU representative at ICSU/CTS).

The following Commission for Development and Exchange was elected for the years 1987-1990:

Chairman:	M.S. Narasimhan
Members:	Jean-Pierre Bourguignon
	Phillip Griffiths
	M. Immanaliev
	A.O. Kuku
	Lé Dung Tràng
	Shingo Murakami

Aron Simis

Giovanni Vidossich. Members ex-officio are Ludwig D. Faddeev and Olli Lehto. 9. Professor Olli Lehto was elected to represent IMU at ICSU in the years 1987-1990. Professor J.L. Lions was elected to represent IMU at COSPAR in 1987-1990. Professor J.H. van Lint was elected to represent IMU at CTS in 1987-1990. There was a break between 2.40 p.m. and 3.00 p.m. 10. The Resolutions Committee presented Resolutions 2-9 for approval. Resolution 2 was adopted with a slight reformulation. Resolution 3 was adopted and the Assembly was informed that the dates planned for the 11th General Assembly are August 18-20, 1990, and the site will be Nara, Japan. Resolutions 4-6 and 8-9 were adopted as such. There was a slight amendment to Resolution 7. The Resolutions, as accepted, are printed in Appendix 5. 11. On the proposal of Professor Mary Ellen Rudin, the Assembly recommended to the newly elected IMU Executive Committee that subfields of mathematics, women, and mathematicians in small countries should not be overlooked when persons to the Committees and Commissions of IMU or speakers to the ICM are selected. 12. Professor M.S. Narasimhan was elected to represent IMU at COSTED.

The President declared the 10th General Assembly of IMU closed at 3:30 p.m.