# **Resolutions of the IMU General Assembly 2018**

## **Resolution 1**

The General Assembly of the IMU expresses its deep gratitude to the Organizing Committee of the ICM 2018 chaired by *Marcelo Viana* and to the Organizing Committee of the General Assembly chaired by *Paolo Piccione* for their dedicated work and for their excellent organization, their special efforts in helping delegates in obtaining their visas, and their warm welcome to the delegates.

## **Resolution 2**

The General Assembly of the IMU expresses its deep appreciation to the Executive Committee, in particular to the IMU President *Shigefumi Mori* and to the chair of the Program Committee *János Kollár*, for their excellent work during the period 2015–2018. It especially thanks the IMU Secretary General *Helge Holden* for his dedication and his passionate work for the IMU and its Adhering Organizations as the Secretary of the IMU.

### **Resolution 3**

The General Assembly of the IMU thanks *Alexander Mielke, Sylwia Markwardt, Lena Koch, Birgit Seeliger, Gerhard Telschow,* and *Frank Klöppel* for their dedicated work in the IMU Secretariat and for all their multiple contributions to the IMU. Special thanks are due to *Sylwia Markwardt* for her deep commitment to the IMU through a long and distinguished career with the IMU.

#### **Resolution 4**

The General Assembly of the IMU thanks the members of all the IMU Committees and Commissions for their dedication and hard work for the mathematical community and the IMU.

## **Resolution 5**

The General Assembly of the IMU thanks individuals and organizations that have contributed with funds to the IMU.

#### **Resolution 6**

The IMU Secretary shall henceforth be denoted Secretary General and the IMU Statutes be changed correspondingly.

#### **Resolution 7**

The General Assembly requests the 2019-2022 IMU Executive Committee, giving due consideration to all the issues involved, to determine and set up statutes for a prize continuing and with the same purpose and scope as the Nevanlinna Prize but with a new name and appropriate funding to be secured.

The statutes of the new prize will be sent to the Adhering Organizations for approval by a postal ballot.

#### **Resolution 8**

- 1. No person can receive more than one IMU award. An exception is that an individual can receive the Leelavati Prize in addition to one other IMU award.
- 2. An ICM Emmy Noether Lecturer cannot have been a Plenary Speaker at an earlier ICM and can give the ICM Emmy Noether lecture only once.
- 3. No person can receive an IMU Award or be an ICM Emmy Noether Lecturer while serving on the IMU Executive Committee.

## **Resolution 9**

The General Assembly of the IMU expresses its deep gratitude to Germany, and in particular to the Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics (WIAS) for their generous support of the IMU Secretariat.

The General Assembly of the IMU endorses that the current Stable Office for the International Mathematical Union, established as a cooperation between WIAS and the IMU, be made permanent.

The General Assembly charges the IMU President and IMU Secretary General to sign an agreement with WIAS.

The Executive Committee establishes an Office Committee that reports bi-annually to the IMU Executive Committee, and the IMU Executive Committee reports their findings to the General Assembly.

### **Resolution 10**

The IMU General Assembly approves the Annual Financial Reports for the years 2014 to 2017. Moreover, it approves the building up of financial reserves from any annual surplus as reported in the income and expenditure statements.

#### **Resolution 11**

The IMU General Assembly grants discharge to the IMU Executive Committee and to the IMU Treasurer for their activities during the period 2014 to 2017.

## **Resolution 12**

- 1. The General Assembly endorses the creation of the ICM Structure Committee with terms of reference as described in the Guidelines for the ICM Structure Committee.
- 2. The General Assembly endorses the changes in the PC/OC Guidelines.
- 3. The Executive Committee is authorized to edit the Guidelines for the ICM Structure Committee and the PC/OC Guidelines based on the discussion at the General Assembly.

## **Resolution 13**

An IMU member will lose its membership by the end of 2019 if at present (July 30, 2018) it is four or more years in arrears, and if the Executive Committee finds that two or more years of dues remain unpaid by December 31, 2019, and if the Executive Committee, after having analyzed thoroughly the case of each particular Adhering Organization, finds it appropriate.

## **Resolution 14**

The IMU General Assembly accepts the offer from the Adhering Organization of Russia to host the 2022 International Congress of Mathematicians and the 19th General Assembly of the IMU in St. Petersburg.

The IMU General Assembly warmly thanks the Adhering Organization of France for their excellent bid to host the 2022 International Congress of Mathematicians in Paris.