

International Mathematical Union

## Preamble

The IMU Abacus Medal was established by the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union (IMU) in 2019, and will be awarded for the first time at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in 2022 in St Petersburg, Russia. The IMU Abacus Medal is funded jointly by the University of Helsinki and the Simons Foundation.

It is a continuation of the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize in mathematical aspects of information science that was established by the Executive Committee of the IMU in 1981, and financed by the University of Helsinki. This prize was awarded to one recipient at each ICM, starting with the ICM in 1982, and the last one at the ICM in 2018.

The IMU Abacus Medal consists of a gold medal and a cash prize like the ones associated with the Fields Medal.

## **Statutes**

- 1. The IMU Abacus Medal is awarded at an ICM for outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences including:
  - (a) All mathematical aspects of computer science, including complexity theory, logic of programming languages, analysis of algorithms, cryptography, computer vision, pattern recognition, information processing and modelling of intelligence.
  - (b) Scientific computing and numerical analysis. Computational aspects of optimization and control theory. Computer algebra.
- 2. The IMU Abacus Medal is awarded to a mathematician whose 40th birthday must not occur before January 1st of the year of the ICM at which the IMU Abacus Medal Prize is awarded.
- 3. The award consists of a gold medal bearing the thematic motif of "the Abacus Bird of the Mathematicians" and a cash amount of EUR 10,000.
- 4. The IMU Abacus Medal Committee that decides the recipients of the IMU Abacus Medal is chosen by the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union. The Committee must abide by the IMU Guidelines regarding conflicts of interest in its deliberations. The name of the Chair of the Committee is made public, but the names of other members of the Committee remain anonymous until the award of the prize at the Congress.
- 5. Nominations for this award must be submitted to the Medal Committee Chair. Any nomination should contain the name and affiliation of candidate, the candidate's date of birth, as well as a description of the work that qualifies the candidate for the award, written in terms that are accessible to mathematicians of different backgrounds, including references to the candidate's important publications. Nominations are confidential, and must not be disclosed to the candidate. Self-nominations are strongly discouraged. The Medal Committee is free to consider mathematicians not nominated.

- 6. No person can receive more than one IMU Award<sup>1</sup>. An exception is that an individual can receive the Leelavati Prize in addition to one other IMU Award.
- 7. No person can receive an IMU Award or be an ICM Emmy Noether Lecturer while serving on the IMU Executive Committee.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Fields Medal, IMU Abacus Medal/Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize, Chern Medal Award, and Leelavati Prize.