International Mathematical Union



August 1, 2016 IMU AO Circular Letter 7/2016

To: The Adhering Organizations of the International Mathematical Union (IMU)

From: Helge Holden, IMU Secretary

Call for nominations for IMU prizes

Dear colleagues,

As Secretary of the IMU I invite you to submit nominations for the IMU distinctions listed below, thus assisting the corresponding committees in their task of selecting the awardees who will receive their distinctions at ICM 2018 in Rio de Janeiro.

Here is the list of awards for which we presently seek nominations, each listed with the email address to which nominations can be sent, and with its short description:

- Fields Medals - Chair: IMU President Shigefumi Mori. Email: chair@fm18.mathunion.org

The Fields Medals are awarded every 4 years on the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians to recognize outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement, see award details at http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/fields/details/.

- Rolf Nevanlinna Prize - Chair: Tony F. Chan. Email: chair@nevanlinna18.mathunion.org

The Nevanlinna Prize is awarded once every 4 years at the International Congress of Mathematicians, for outstanding contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences, see award details at <u>http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/nevanlinna/details/</u>.

- Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize - Chair: Björn Engquist. Email: chair@gauss18.mathunion.org

The Gauss Prize is awarded once every 4 years to honor a scientist whose mathematical research has had an impact outside mathematics – either in technology, in business, or simply in people's everyday lives, see award details at <u>http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/gauss/details/</u>.

- Chern Medal Award - Chair: Caroline Series. Email: chair@chern18.mathunion.org

The Chern Medal is awarded every 4 years on the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics, see award details at <u>http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/chern/details/</u>.

- Leelavati Prize, sponsored by Infosys – Chair: Gert-Martin Greuel. Email: <u>chair@leelavati18.mathunion.org</u> The Leelavati Prize, sponsored by Infosys, is intended to accord high recognition and great appreciation of the IMU and Infosys of outstanding contributions for increasing public awareness of mathematics as an intellectual discipline and the crucial role it plays in diverse human endeavors, see award details at http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/leelavati/details/.

IMU also requests nominations for the

- ICM Emmy Noether Lecture - Chair: Irene Fonseca. Email: <u>chair@noether18.mathunion.org</u>

The ICM Emmy Noether Lecture is a special lecture at an ICM which honors women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences, see more details at <u>http://www.mathunion.org/activities/icm/emmy-noether-lecture/</u>.

More information about each of these awards and the Noether lecture, as well as lists of past laureates, can be found on the IMU Web site at URL: <u>www.mathunion.org/general/prizes</u>.

To allow the committees sufficient time for this decision process, the IMU has set

December 31, 2016

as the deadline for nominations. Nominations received after this date will only be considered at the discretion of the committee.

Thus, we would like to urge you to submit before the deadline any compelling nominations of which you are already aware now.

The full compositions of all committees remain confidential and will be announced at the Opening Ceremony of ICM 2018 only.

The guidelines for nominations are specified at the Web page: <u>http://www.mathunion.org/general/prizes/nomination-guidelines/</u>.

For some awards (e.g., the Leelavati Prize) additional hints concerning the nomination can be found on the respective Web pages.

IMU prefers electronic submission of nominations, please send your submission, if possible, electronically.

By sending your nomination to the special email address of the committee chair, you will ensure that it automatically reaches the corresponding committee. A copy of your nomination materials will be archived in the IMU Secretariat in Berlin with an embargo of 70 years for anyone outside the committee.

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

Sincerely,

Helge Holden Secretary of the International Mathematical Union