## **International Mathematical Union**

January 10, 2019 IMU AO Circular Letter 3/2019

To: The Adhering Organizations of the International Mathematical Union (IMU)

From: Helge Holden, IMU Secretary General

## The ICM Structure Committee

Dear colleagues,

At the 2018 General Assembly of the IMU in São Paulo it was decided on the recommendation of the Executive Committee to establish the ICM Structure Committee (SC).

Let me first give you the background. Up to ICM 2018, the responsibility to determine the scientific program (sections and the number of talks in each section), appoint panel members who recommend the speakers as well as decide all speakers for the forthcoming ICM, has resided with the omnipotent Program Committee (PC). It is a fact that the sections have varied very little over time. The aim now is to keep pace with and reflect the development of all fields of mathematics in order to make the ICM a showcase of modern mathematics.

The ICM Structure Committee will be responsible for the scientific program of the next ICM in St Petersburg, while leaving the selection of the speakers with the PC. Former IMU President László Lovász is the Chair of the SC.

Membership of the ICM Structure Committee is as follows:

László Lovász [Chair]

Carlos Kenig [IMU President, ex officio]

Nalini Anantharaman

Alexei Borodin

Annalisa Buffa

Irene Fonseca

János Kollár

Terry Lyons

Stephane Mallat

Hiraku Nakajima

Terence Tao

Éva Tardos

Peter Teichner

Akshay Venkatesh

Anna Wienhard

The ICM Structure Committee is encouraged to interact with the mathematical community worldwide.

The Chair László Lovász can be contacted at <chair@sc22.mathunion.org>.

## Regards

Helge Holden

Secretary General of the International Mathematical Union