Skip to main content

About ICHM

The International Commission for the History of Mathematics (ICHM) is an inter-union commission joining the International Mathematical Union (IMU) and the Division of the History of Science (DHS) of the International Union for the History and Philosophy of Science (IUHPS). It is composed of representatives of some fifty-five nations, those nations internationally in which the history of mathematics is taught and/or actively researched. The ICHM has the following international aims:

  • to encourage the study of the history of mathematics; and
  • to promote a high level of historically and mathematically sophisticated scholarship in the field.

The ICHM works toward these goals first and foremost through its official journal, Historia Mathematica. Founded in 1974 by Kenneth O. May, Historia Mathematica is currently under the editorship of Reinhard Siegmund-Schultze (University of Agder, Norway) and Nathan Sidoli (Waseda University, Japan) and publishes original research on the history of the mathematics in all periods and in all cultural settings.

The ICHM also seeks to promote and encourage the history of mathematics through a variety of other activities, most notably:

  • sponsoring or co-sponsoring scientific symposia at the International Congresses of the History of Science and of Mathematics, at meetings of national history of science and mathematics societies, and at other conferences
  • awarding, once every four years on the occasion of the International Congress of the History of Science, the Kenneth O. May Medal to historians of mathematics for outstanding contributions to the history of mathematics
  • awarding, once every four years, the Montucla Prize to the author of the best article by a junior scholar published in Historia Mathematica in the four years preceding the International Congress of History of Science and Technology