About ICM


The International Congress of Mathematicians is also the stage for bestowing the most prestigious awards in mathematics:


Fields Medal

Two to four medalists under 40 are recognized for outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement.
Learn more


Nevanlinna Prize

Awarded to a researcher under age 40 for outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences.
Learn more


Gauss Prize

Honors scientists whose mathematical research has had an impact outside mathematics – either in technology, in business, or simply in people's everyday lives.
Learn more


Chern Medal Award

For individuals of all ages whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics.
Learn more


Leelavati Prize, sponsored by Infosys

Honors those who have made outstanding contributions to the increasing public awareness of mathematics in society.
Learn more