Skip to main content

Awardees 2019

Three students have been awarded a BGF grant to complete their PhD. BGF grants are funded by the generous donations from all the Breakthrough Prize winners. The program is the subject of an interesting article by Della Dumbaugh appeared in the September Issue of the AMS Notices. The award of full PhD grants goes to three students from developing countries engaged in a PhD degree in the mathematical sciences in a developing country. 

The 2019 recipients are, listed in alphabetical order:

Phan Thanh Hong

Phan Thanh Hong is a Vietnamese PhD student at the Institute of Mathematics of the Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology nominated by her advisor Professor Luu Hoang Duc from the same institution. She is working on Nonautonomous stochastic differential equations driven by fractional Brownian motions.

Darya Sukhoresbka

Darya Sukhoresbka is an Ukrainian PhD student at B. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, nominated by her advisor Professor Alexander Borisenko from the same institution. She plans to work on Geodesics on polyedra in constant curvature spaces.

Adeolu Taiwo

Adeolu Taiwo was a Nigerian PhD student at the University of KwaZulu-Natal of South Africa, and was nominated by his advisor Professor Temitope Mewomo from the same institution. He worked on Generalized mixed pseudomotone equilibrium problems and split equality fixed point problems and their applications, in the framework of real Banach spaces.

He obtained his PhD degree in Mathematics in May 2021 at the School of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science of the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa.