Skip to main content

Awardees 2016

Thanks to a generous donation by the winners of the Breakthrough Prizes in Mathematics – Ian Agol, Simon Donaldson, Maxim Kontsevich, Jacob Lurie, Terence Tao and Richard Taylor – IMU (The International Mathematical Union) with the assistance of FIMU (Friends of the IMU) and TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences) launched in April 2016 a fellowship program to support postgraduate studies, in a developing country, leading to a PhD degree in the mathematical sciences.

The selection process of the recipients of the new IMU Breakout Graduate Fellowship has concluded in November 2016 with the award of full PhD grants to three students from developing countries engaged in a PhD degree in the mathematical sciences in a developing country. 

The 2016 recipients are, listed in alphabetical order

Do Thai Duong

Do Thai Do Thai Duong is a Vietnamese PhD student at the Institute of Mathematics of  the Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology nominated by Professor Pham  Hoang Hiep from the same institution. He plans to work on Complex Analysis  and Geometry.

María Alejandra Ramírez Luna

Ramirez LunaMaría Alejandra Ramírez Luna is a Colombian PhD student at the Universidad del Valle, Colombia nominated by Professor Gonzalo Garcia Camacho from the same institution. She plans to work on Differential Geometry.

Abebe Regassa Tufa

Tufa Abebe Regassa Tufa is an Ethiopian PhD student at the University of  Botswana nominated by Professor Habtu Zegeye from Botswana  International University for Science and Technology. He is working on  Existence and Approximation of Solutions of Equations of Nonlinear  Mappings, Variational Inequality Problems for Monotone Mappings and  Hammerstein Type Integral Equations in Metric Spaces.