Skip to main content

IMU News 105b: Special issue on the International Day of Mathematics 2021

A Special Issue of the Email Newsletter from the International Mathematical Union (pdf)
Editor: Yoshiharu Kohayakawa, Universidade de São Paulo ,Brazil

The International Day of Mathematics 2021

Everyone is invited to the celebration of the International Day of Mathematics (IDM 2021) on Sunday, March 14, 2021, under the theme Mathematics for a Better World.

The 2021 Global Online Celebration will start on the IDM website at 00:00 in Oceania and will last almost 48 hours. It will liveblog pictures and videos from IDM events worldwide, posters, announcements and more.

Everyone is invited to join in on March 14 by posting on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram using the hashtag #idm314 and tagging the official IDM account.

The main event of the online celebration is a series of short talks for a general audience on mathematics and how it can make the world better.

There will be three sessions in three different languages: English, French, and Spanish.

All talks will be streamed through the IDM website, completely free and without any need to sign up.  Check the program of each session:

English session: March 14, 14:00–15:00 UTC  (15:00–16:00 Paris time)

French session: March 14, 15:30–16:35 UTC  (16:30–17:35 Paris time)

Spanish session: March 14, 17:00–18:05 UTC  (18:00–19:05 Paris time)

Double-check the time in your timezone here.

Browse the Mathematics for a Better World Poster Challenge Gallery!  More posters will be shown during the Global Celebration on March 14.

It is still possible to post last minute events on the IDM website.

Spread the word in your community and Happy International Day of Mathematics!

Christiane Rousseau
Chair of the IDM Governing Board

Subscribing to IMU News


To subscribe to IMU News, please click here. When you subscribe, you will receive an e-mail message to confirm your subscription so that misuse will be minimized.

IMU will not use the list of IMU News emails for any purpose other than sending IMU News, and will not make it available to others.

Previous issues can be seen here.