Skip to main content

ICM Emmy Noether Lecture

The ICM Emmy Noether Lecture, formally not an award, honors women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences. The ICM Emmy Noether Lecture is named after the German mathematician Emmy Noether. Since 2006, this lecture is a permanent ICM tradition, since 2014, a special commemorative plaquette is given to each ICM Emmy Noether Lecturer.

The Award Selection Committee is chosen by the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union. The ICM Program Committee makes the final selection of the Lecturer.

The name of the Chair of the Award Selection Committee is made public, but the names of other members of the Committee remain anonymous until the award of the prize at the Congress.

Statutes for the ICM Emmy Noether Lecture

The details of the Award, the nomination, and the selection can be found in the Statutes for the Award.

Physical Award

Emmy Noether Plaquette front, sculpted by Stephanie Magdziak Emmy Noether Plaquette back, sculpted by Stephanie Magdziak
  • Material:
  • Bronze
  • Size:
  • 13.65 cm x 11.75 cm

Emmy Noether Plaquette, sculpted by Stephanie Magdziak

Description of the ICM Emmy Noether Plaquette:

Plaquette obverse:    Emmy Noether bas-relief portrait and formula inscriptions
Plaquette reverse:    Cascading rings and incised inscriptions

The name of the ICM Emmy Noether Lecturer is engraved in the
lower right quadrant of the reverse [“Rings”] side.

Former Award Committees


  • Sylvia Serfaty (Chair)
    Manindra Agrawal
    Jesper Grodal
    Hinke Osinga
    Anna Wienhard


  • Irene Fonseca (Chair)
    Georgia Benkart
    Kathryn Hess
    Nalini Joshi
    Izabella Laba
    Dipendran Prasad
    Fernando Rodriguez Villegas


  • Christiane Rousseau (Chair)
    Maria Esteban
    Raman Parimala
    Claudia Sagastizabal
    Anatoly Vershik


  • Cheryl Praeger (Chair)
    Christine Bessenrodt
    Jerry Marsden
    Ramdorai Sujatha


  • Ragni Piene (Chair)
    Christopher Deninger
    Hu Hesheng
    Cathleen S. Morawetz
    Maria Eulalia Vares

History of the ICM Emmy Noether Lecture

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) started the series of annual Noether Lectures which are one-hour expository lectures presented by a female mathematician at the Joint Mathematics Meetings each January. In 1994, 1998, and 2002 special additional Emmy Noether lectures were presented at the ICMs of these years. For simplicity purposes, the lecturers are now listed as ICM Emmy Noether lecturers.

The IMU General Assembly in Shanghai 2002 had adopted the following Resolution 5: "The General Assembly recommends continuing the tradition of the 1994, 1998, 2002 ICMs, by holding an Emmy Noether lecture at the next two ICMs (2006 and 2010), with selection of the speakers to be made by an IMU appointed committee."

At the General Assembly in Bangalore the Emmy Noether Lectures were adopted as a permanent ICM tradition via Resolution 8: "The General Assembly of the IMU recommends continuing the tradition of holding an Emmy Noether lecture at each ICM, with selection of the speaker to be made by a committee appointed by the IMU Executive Committee." To distinguish between the two series of Noether lectures it was decided to use the name ICM Emmy Noether Lecture for a lecture given at an ICM.