Skip to main content

ICM 2022


The International Congress of Mathematicians 2022 (ICM 2022) took place between 6-14 July 2022 as a virtual event.

At meetings held over 24-27 February 2022, the Executive Committee of the IMU decided that ICM 2022 and the 19th IMU General Assembly (GA) would not take place in Saint Petersburg, Russia as originally planned. The decision was communicated to members in an official statement, with a further statement sent to clarify aspects of the decision. The GA was ultimately held on 3-4 July 2022 in Helsinki, Finland, followed by the IMU Award Ceremony 2022 on 5 July 2022. The ICM 2022 was held as a virtual event over 6-14 July 2022. Videos of the virtual ICM 2022 lectures are available to watch on the IMU's YouTube channel.

The ICM Structure Committee for ICM 2022

At the 2018 General Assembly of the IMU in São Paulo it was decided on the recommendation of the Executive Committee to establish the ICM Structure Committee (SC).

The background is as follows. Up to ICM 2018, the responsibility to determine the scientific program (sections and the number of talks in each section), appoint panel members who recommend the speakers, as well as decide all speakers for the forthcoming ICM, had resided with the omnipotent Program Committee (PC). It was a fact that the sections varied very little over time. The aim of establishing the ICM Structure Committee was thus to keep pace with and reflect the development of all fields of mathematics in order to the make the ICM a showcase of modern mathematics.

The ICM Structure Committee was responsible for the scientific program of the ICM in 2022, while leaving the selection of the speakers with the PC.

Membership of the ICM Structure Committee for ICM 2022 was as follows

Terence Tao [Chair],
Carlos Kenig [IMU President, ex officio]
Nalini Anantharaman
Alexei Borodin
Annalisa Buffa
Hélène Esnault*
Irene Fonseca
László Lovász [resigned on 23 June 2019]
Terry Lyons
Stephane Mallat
Hiraku Nakajima
Éva Tardos
Peter Teichner
Akshay Venkatesh
Anna Wienhard

*Replacing János Kollár who stepped down on 21 March 2019

The ICM Structure Committee is encouraged to interact with the mathematical community worldwide.

Program Committee for 2022

The IMU Executive Committee appointed the ICM 2022 Program Committee (PC) at its meeting in March 2019. The chair of the PC was appointed by the IMU President Carlos E. Kenig, and for the ICM in 2022 it was Martin Hairer of Imperial College, London. The PC decided all speakers at the ICM 2022. Membership in the PC was not made public until the Opening Ceremony of the ICM 2022. The reason for this secrecy was to protect the members of the committee from personal or political pressure from outside. Invitations to lecture at the International Congresses carry such high prestige that individuals or groups have always made efforts to influence the decisions of the committee.

The roles the Program Committee and the Organizing Committee play are described in the PC/OC Guidelines.

Membership of the ICM 2022 Program Committee was as follows

Martin Hairer [Chair],
Sanjeev Arora
Anna-Karin Tornberg
Shafi Goldwasser
Ursula Hamenstaedt
Sergei Ivanov
Mikhail Kapranov
Yiming Long
Felix Otto
Jonathan Pila
T.N. Venkataramana
Geordie Williamson