Skip to main content

Abel Visiting Scholar 2017 Recipients

Ibrar Hussain


Ibrar Hussain (b. 1978) is Assistant Professor at the National University of Sciences and Technology of Islamabad, Pakistan. His research proposal was centred on the study of Noether symmetries of the Lagrange functional for field equations and of the geodetic Lagrangians in some spacetimes. He was hosted by Professor Peter J. Olver of the School of Mathematics of the University of Minnesota, USA.

Roger Kameugne


Roger Kameugne (b. 1980) is a Senior Lecturer of Applied Mathematics at the University of Bamenda, Cameroon. His research proposal was centered on a generalized edge finder algorithm for scheduling problems with cumulative resource constraint. He was hosted by professor Claude-Guy Quimper of the Université de Laval, Canada.

Ali Ashher Zaidi


Ali Ashher Zaidi (b. 1985) is an Assistant Professor (Tenure Track) at Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS), Lahore. His research proposal centers on a cell growth model with asymmetric, minimum cellsize division. He will be hosted by Prof. Graeme Wake of the Massey University, Auckland, New

Diem Dang Huan


Diem Dang Huan (b. 1980) is the Dean of the Faculty of Basic Sciences, Bacgiang Agriculture and Forestry University, Bacgiang, Vietnam. His research proposal centers on controllability of fractional neutral impulsive stochastic integro-differential equations with Poisson jumps. He will be hosted by Prof. Jinqiao Duan of the Illinois Institute of Technology, Illinois 60616, Chicago, USA.

Octavio Alberto Agustín Aquino


Octavio Alberto Agustín Aquino (b. 1983) is a Lecturer-Researcher at the Universidad Tecnológica de la Mixteca, Mexico. His research proposal is centered on the mathematical study of counterpoint, particularly in the context of equitempered tunings which entails the use of tools from number theory, combinatorics, topology and category theory. He will be hosted by Dr. Guerino Mazzola, and Michael Kim, Director of The School of Music, College of Liberal Arts, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA.