Skip to main content

ICMI Executive Committee 2021-2024

ICMI announces the transition in its leadership effective January 1, 2021, with the election of Frederick K. S. Leung succeeding Jill Adler as president, Jean-Luc Dorier replacing Abraham Arvaci as Secretary General, Anjum Halai and Merrilyn Goos as vice presidents, and new executive committee members-at-large Marta Civil,  Patricio Felmer, Mercy Kazima, Nuria Planas and Susanne Prediger.

Frederick K. S. Leung is an endowed professor, the Kintoy Professor in Mathematics Education at the The University of Hong Kong, SAR, China and has served as a member at large of the ICMI Executive Committee between 2003 and 2009. His research area has been comparative studies in mathematics education, and the influence of culture (and in particular the East Asian culture) on mathematics teaching and learning. Frederik Leung is the recipient of the 2013 Hans Freudenthal Medal.

Jean-Luc Dorier has been a researcher in Didactique des mathématiques for more than 30 years and has served the ICMI EC as a member-at-large since 2013. His affiliation with ICMI goes back to 1997 when he became a member of the IPC of ICMI Study 10 on The Role of the History of Mathematics in the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics. Jean-Luc Dorier is Professeur ordinaire de didactique des mathématiques Universityof Geneva –Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences in Switzerland.

Merrilyn Goos is Professor of STEM Education and Director of EPI*STEM, the National Centre for STEM Education, at the University of Limerick, Ireland. Before taking up this position she worked for 25 years at The University of Queensland, Australia, in a range of academic roles including Head of the School of Education and Director of the University’s Teaching and Educational Development Institute, working with all Faculties and disciplines to improve the quality of teaching and learning in the University. She has already served as ICMI Vice-President since 2017 and will start a second term. Her involvement in ICMI goes back to 1996.

Anjum Halai is a highly experienced international education expert focusing on mathematics education and research in the context of low-income countries. Her research interests are in issues of social justice in education due to marginalization on the basis of language, gender, conflict or other forms of exclusion in education. In September 2014, she led the ICMI’s Fourth Capacity and Network Project (CANP4) held in Dar es Salaam Tanzania. She is Professor & Vice Provost at the Aga Khan University in Karachi Pakistan. Prof Halai will also serve vice president.

ICMI executive committee elections took place during July 13 until July 15th using an electronic voting system and take effect on January 1, 2021. The full ICMI Executive committee and their affiliations are as follows:

President- Frederick K. S. Leung, Hong Kong, SAR, China
Secretary-General- Jean-Luc Dorier, Switzerland
Vice-Presidents- Merrilyn Goos, Australia - Ireland
Anjum Halai, Pakistan

Marta Civil (USA)
Patricio Felmer (Chile)
Mercy Kazima (Malawi)
Núria Planas (Spain)
Susanne Prediger (Germany)

Additionally the ICMI EC consists of three ex-officio members:
Immediate Past President of ICMI- Jill Adler, South Africa
President of IMU- Carlos Kenig, USA Secretary of IMU- Helge Holden, Norway

Paolo Piccione, Brazil (IMU EC) will continue as ICMI liaison persons from IMU.
More information about the ICMI EC at:

ICMI EC 2021-2024 Slider Item Website.png