Skip to main content

Chern Medal Award 2018

chern.pngThe Chern Medal Award is given to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics. All living, natural persons, regardless of age or vocation, shall be eligible for the Medal.
The award is jointly given by IMU and the Chern Medal Foundation (CMF). CMF funds the Chern Medal Award. The Medalist receives a cash prize of 250,000 USD. In addition each Medalist may nominate one or more organizations to receive funding totaling 250,000 USD, for the support of research, education, or other outreach programs in the field of mathematics.
Masaki Kashiwara

Masaki Kashiwara

For his outstanding and foundational contributions to algebraic analysis and representation theory sustained over a period of almost 50 years.

citation video write-up