Skip to main content

IMU News 113c: Special Issue - IMU Awards 2022

A Special Issue of the Email Newsletter from the International Mathematical Union on the occasion of the IMU Award Ceremony 2022.

The International Mathematical Union (IMU) is proud to announce the recipients of the IMU Awards 2022 as follows.

Fields Medals

In 2022, the Fields Medals – recognizing mathematicians under the age of 40 for “...outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement...” – are awarded to


Photo credit: Matteo Fieni
Hugo Duminil-Copin
(University of Geneva, Switzerland and Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France)

“for solving longstanding problems in the probabilistic theory of phase transitions in statistical physics, especially in dimensions three and four.”



Photo credit: Lance Murphey
June Huh
(Princeton University, US)
“for bringing the idea of Hodge theory to combinatorics, the proof of the Dowling–Wilson conjecture for geometric lattices, the proof of the Heron–Rota–Welsh conjecture for matroids, the development of Lorentzian polynomials, and the proof of the strong Mason conjecture.”



Photo credit: Ryan Cowan
James Maynard
(University of Oxford, UK)
“for contributions to analytic number theory, which have led to major advances in the understanding of the structure of prime numbers and in Diophantine approximation.”




Photo credit: Matteo Fieni
Maryna Viazovska
(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
“for the proof that the 𝐸8 lattice provides the densest packing of identical spheres in 8 dimensions, and further contributions to related extremal problems and interpolation problems in Fourier analysis.”

IMU Abacus Medal

The inaugural IMU Abacus Medal – recognizing a mathematician under the age of 40 “for outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences...” – is awarded to


Photo credit: Lance Murphey
Mark Braverman
(Princeton University, US)

“for his path-breaking research developing the theory of information complexity, a framework for using information theory to reason about communication protocols. His work has led to direct-sum theorems giving lower bounds on amortized communication, ingenious protocol compression methods and new interactive communication protocols resilient to noise.”

Chern Medal Award

In addition, the IMU proudly awards the Chern Medal Award “ an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics....” The Chern Medal Award 2022 is awarded to


Photo credit: Lance Murphey
Barry Mazur
(Harvard University, US)

“for his profound discoveries in topology, arithmetic geometry and number theory, and his leadership and generosity in forming the next generation of mathematicians.”

Gauss Prize

The IMU also awards the Gauss Prize “to honor scientists whose mathematical research has had an impact outside mathematics – either in technology, in business, or simply in people's everyday lives...”. The Gauss Prize 2022 is awarded to


Photo credit: Lance Murphey
Elliott Lieb
(Princeton University, US)

“for deep mathematical contributions of exceptional breadth which have shaped the fields of quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, computational chemistry and quantum information theory.”

Leelavati Prize

Finally, the IMU awards the Leelavati Prize for “outstanding contributions for increasing public awareness of mathematics as an intellectual discipline and the crucial role that it plays in diverse
human endeavors.” The Leelavati Prize 2022 is awarded to


Photo credit: Sergei Amirdzhanov
Nikolai Andreev
(Steklov Institute, Russia)

“for his contributions to the art of mathematical animation and of mathematical model-building, in a style which inspires the young and the old alike, and which mathematicians around the world can adapt to their varied uses as well as for his indefatigable efforts to popularize genuine mathematics among the public via videos, lectures and a prize-winning book.”

The IMU Awards 2022 were bestowed on the recipients at the IMU Award Ceremony in Helsinki, Finland, on 5 July. The ceremony was held in the Aula of Aalto University. The IMU was honored to have the President of Finland open the ceremony, after which the subsequent proceedings were led by Carlos E. Kenig, President of the IMU.

The IMU is grateful to Finnish colleagues for making it possible to host this award ceremony as a live event in Helsinki.

Helsinki, Finland, 5 July 2022

Subscribing to IMU News

To subscribe to IMU News, please click here. When you subscribe, you will receive an e-mail message to confirm your subscription so that misuse will be minimized.

IMU will not use the list of IMU News emails for any purpose other than sending IMU News, and will not make it available to others.

Previous issues can be seen here.