Skip to main content


URL prefix

Ingrid Daubechies and Claire Voisin Honored with L’Oréal-UNESCO International Awards for Women in Science

On the occasion of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science the L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO have announced the laureates of the 21st International Awards For Women in Science, two of whom (out of five) are mathematicians: Ingrid Daubechies (Duke University, United States) and Claire Voisin (Collège de France). It is the first time that the award was extended to mathematics. Read more here.  

Jill Pipher Takes Office as AMS President

Jill Pipher, Vice President for Research and Elisha Benjamin Andrews Professor of Mathematics at Brown University, begins her term as AMS President today, February 1, 2019. “It is quite an honor to be starting my term as President of the American Mathematical Society,” she says. “I’ve spent this past year as President-elect thinking hard about priorities for the next two years.

The CWM 2019 call for Networks and Schools received 41 applications of which CWM decided to support 7. In the selection of grants, the priority has been given to projects developing regional networks for Women in Mathematics, in Africa, Latin America, and Asia.

Subscribe to CWM