Skip to main content

CWM News

Suggestions for CWM News can be sent to
CWM News Archives can be found here

Brazilian Group of Black Women Mathematicians anti-racism manifesto

On June 14, 2020, the Brazilian Group of Black Women Mathematicians issued an anti-racism manifesto, available in English here.
About the collective: The Group of Black Women Mathematicians is composed of self-identified Black women working (or interested) in different areas of mathematics. Created on July 31, 2018 via WhatsApp, the group is intended to provide support and space for discussions as well as facilitate collective mobilization of Black women mathematicians from and/or in Brazil.
Contact information:
instagram: @matematicasnegras
Youtube: Matematicas Negras. 

The Gender Gap in Science Book

The  Gender Gap in Science Book can be found here. It can also be ordered as a printed book through many retailers worldwide. For example on Book Repository. See more here.

An 8 pages booklet in several languagues containing the summary of the results of the project and the full list of its recommendations can be found here.


Dr. Malabika Pramanik appointed next director of the Banff International Research Station.

Banff International Research Station (BIRS)

The Banff International Research Station (BIRS) has announced that Professor Malabika Pramanik is the incoming Director of the Station commencing on July 1, 2020. Dr. Pramanik, who is Professor of Mathematics at the University of British Columbia, was confirmed unanimously and enthusiastically by the BIRS Board of Directors for this position. (Official announcement)

Congratulations to Dr. Pramanik.


May 12, a Celebration for Women in Mathematics, year 2020

May 12 was chosen for the Celebration of Women in Mathematics because it is the birthdate of Maryam Mirzakhani. The initiative was  proposed by the Women's Committee of the Iranian Mathematical Society and voted by a vast majority of attendees to (WM)², the World Meeting for Women on Mathematics on last July 31 in Rio.

Several suggestions for local activities around May 12 are listed here.Please feel free to organize one and mention it on May 12 website.

In the countries where there are restrictions to gatherings because of the coronavirus crisis, organizing collective events with physical presence might  be difficult this year. But, adapting our suggestions, it might be possible to organize events differently and virtually. .

The initiative is  supported by several organisations for women in mathematics worldwide (European Women in Mathematics, Association for Women in Mathematics, African Women in Mathematics Association, Indian Women and Mathematics, Colectivo de Mujeres Matemáticas de Chile andthe Women's Committee of the Iranian Mathematical Society).


More information here.

Mathematician Corinna Ulcigrai honored with Brin Prize

University of Zurich

Corinna Ulcigrai was awareded the prestigious Brin Prize 2020. The award honors young mathematicians and is considered as the most important award in the field of dynamical systems.

The Brin Prize in dynamical systems is awared for an outstanding impact in the theory of dynamical systems or in related fields. The Prize recognizes mathematicians  who have made substantial impact in the field at an early stage of their careers.

Official announcement from UZH.

Katherine Johnson dies at age 101

Katherine Johnson, the American mathematician whose calculations of rocket trajectories were critical to the success of the first and subsequent U.S. crewed spaceflights and who is celebrated in the movie "Hidden Figures", has died at the age of 101. In 2017, the "Katherine G. Johnson Computational Research Facility" was named and dedicated in her honor. During the same year, The Washington Post described her as "the most high-profile of the computers". Here, "computers" refers to the many supremely capable, mostly female NASA mathematicians who performed complex manual calculation for the agency in the pursuit of space flight.

Following her death, NASA described Katherine Johnson as an "American hero" whose "pioneering legacy will never be forgotten".

CWM Call 2020

CWM invites proposals for funding of up to €3000 for activities or initiatives taking place in 2020, aimed at either (a) establishing or supporting networks for women in mathematics, preferably at the continental or regional level, and with priority given to networks in developing or emerging countries or (b) organizing a mathematical school open to all with all women speakers and mainly women organisers or (c) orgaizing research workshops geared towards establishing research networks for women by fostering research collaborations during the event or (d) other ideas for researching and/or addressing issues encountered by women in mathematics. The applications should be sent to before Januray 15 2020. For more details see here.