Skip to main content

ICMI

URL prefix
/icmi

Lisandro Peña Auditorium - Architecture

Topic Study Group 11 brings together researchers and developers who investigate and develop theoretical accounts of the teaching and learning of algebra. The group especially welcomes empirically grounded contributions that focus on (a) learning and teaching in diverse classrooms settings from around the world; (b) the evolution of algebraic reasoning from elementary through university schooling.

Topics of interest include: 

-Classroom processes that enhance the learning of algebra. 

201 and B202 Rooms


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Call for papers

Proposals by

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

Susan Forman (USA)

sforman2@nyc.rr.com

Richard Noss (United Kingdom)

r.noss@ioe.ac.uk

Team members:

Zlatan Magajna (Slovenia)

zlatan.magajna@guest.arnes.si

Henk van der Kooij (The Netherlands)

H.vanderKooij@fi.uu.nl

Jose Maria Chamoso (Spain)

jchamoso@usal.es

B105 and B106 Rooms

(people who start school in an advanced age; continuing education; citizenship)


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Aims and focus

Call for papers

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

Diana Coben (United Kingdom)

King’s College London

Department of Education and Professional Studies

Professor of Adult Numeracy

Franklin-Wilkins Building (Waterloo Bridge Wing)

Waterloo Road

B103 and B104 Rooms


List of invited presenters and accpted papers:

Lindenskov, Lena & Vianna, Claudia (2008). How to define special needs and students with special needs in relation to learning mathematics’. Welcome by the Organising team. Danish university School of Education, Aarhus University & Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ)

Gervasoni, Ann (2008). Insights About Indentifying and Assisting Children Who Have Difficulty Learning Mathematics. Australian Catholic University, Ballarat.

Martínez Carranza 1 Auditorium - Civil Eng.


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Pictures


Aims and focus

Papers already accepted

Call for papers

List of links to relevant material

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

Gloria Stillman (Australia)

staff.edfac.unimelb.edu.au/~gstil/

g.stillman@unimelb.edu.au

Jaime Carvalho e Silva (Portugal)

Martínez Carranza 1 Auditorium - Civil Eng.


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Aims, scope, and goals

Papers for Topic Study Group III

Presentations: Auditorio Martínez Carranza 1(Civil) Building H

Papers accepted but will not be presented

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

Elaine Simmt (Canada)

elaine.simmt@ualberta.ca

Binyan Xu (China)

byxu@kcx.ecnu.edu.cn

Team members:

Myriam Acevedo (Colombia)

B304 and B303 Rooms


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Aims and Scope

Call for Papers

Program

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

Barbara Reys (USA)

reysb@missouri.edu

Shigeo Yoshikawa (Japan)

shigeo@mext.go.jp

Team members:

Marja van den Heuvel-Panhuizen (The Netherlands )

m.vandenheuvel@fi.uu.nl

Gloria García (Colombia)

gloriag@pedagogica.edu.co

Dan Zhang (China)

Joaquín Antonio Mora Auditorium - Architecture


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Call for Contributions for ICME 11 Topic Study Group 33: Mathematics education in a multilingual and multicultural environment

Program

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

Natalia de Bengoechea (Mexico)

Universidad Pedagógica Nacional

bengoech@upn.mx

María Luisa Oliveras (Spain)

Universidad de Granada

oliveras@ugr.es

Team members:

A311 and A312 Rooms


Sections:

Organizing team composition

Call for papers

Papers and discussion documents


Team chairs:

María Trigueros (Mexico)

trigue@itam.mx

Helen Forgasz (Australia)

Helen.Forgasz@Education.monash.edu.au

Team members:

Anna Chronaki (Greece)

chronaki@uth.gr

Olof Steinthorsdottir (USA)

steintho@email.unc.edu

Liv Sissel Gronmo (Norway)

l.s.gronmo@ils.uio.no

Subscribe to ICMI